Adam Isacson

Defense, security, borders, migration, and human rights in Latin America and the United States. May not reflect my employer’s consensus view.

Archives

Events

Latin America-related events in Washington this week

Monday, April 3, 2023

  • 1:00-2:00 at the Wilson Center: Corruption, Accountability and Democracy in Brazil: Challenges and Solutions (RSVP required).

Thursday, April 6, 2023

  • 11:00-12:30 at George Washington University: Resurgence Of Militarism: Views From The Global South And Implications For The United States (RSVP required).

Latin America-related events in Washington and online this week

Monday, March 27, 2023

  • 5:00-6:30 at Georgetown University: The García Luna Case: Dirty Money and the War on Drugs (RSVP required).

Tuesday, March 28, 2023

Wednesday, March 29, 2023

Thursday, March 30, 2023

  • 9:30 at the Atlantic Council and online: 2023: A pivotal moment to celebrate 200 years of US-Chile relations (RSVP required).
  • 3:00-5:00 at Georgetown University: Forty years after the US invasion of Grenada: lessons for the 21st Century (RSVP required).

Friday, March 31, 2023

  • 10:00 at Global Americans Zoom: The Implications of Climate Change for Indigenous and Tribal Peoples in the Caribbean (RSVP required).

Latin America-related events in Washington and online this week

Monday, March 20, 2023

  • 11:00 at the Atlantic Council and online: Weathering the storms together: Improving US humanitarian efforts (RSVP required).
  • 1:00-5:00 at the Wilson Center and online: Forum on Cyber-Harassment (RSVP required).
  • 4:00-5:30 at wilsoncenter.org: The Ends of Modernization: Nicaragua and the United States in the Cold War Era (RSVP required).

Tuesday, March 21, 2023

Wednesday, March 22, 2023

Thursday, March 23, 2023

Friday, March 24, 2023

Latin America-related events in Washington and online this week

Monday, March 13, 2023

Wednesday, March 15, 2023

Thursday, March 16, 2023

  • 9:15-10:30 at the Inter-American Dialogue and online: A Conversation with Dante Mossi, Executive President of CABEI (RSVP required).
  • 5:00-6:00 at Witness at the Border online: Biden’s Proposed Asylum Ban: a Disaster for Children and Families (RSVP required).

Latin America-Related Events in Washington and Online This Week

Monday, March 6, 2023

Tuesday, May 7, 2023

Wednesday, March 8, 2023

Thursday, May 9, 2023

  • 8:30-5:00 at Johns Hopkins SAIS and online: 5th Annual Forum on Security Challenges in Latin America (RSVP required).
  • 9:30-11:00 at stimson.org: The Biden Administration’s New US Conventional Arms Transfer Policy (RSVP required).
  • 11:00 at migrationpolicy.org: Migration in the Caribbean: Challenges and Opportunities for a Changing Region (RSVP required).

Friday, March 10, 2023

  • 2:00-3:30 at American University: Book Talk: The Foreign Policy of The Latin American States – Approaches, Methodologies and Cases (RSVP required).

Latin America-related events in Washington and online this week

Monday, February 27, 2023

  • 1:00-1:45 at atlanticcouncil.org: Climate-proofing the Caribbean: A partnership for the future (RSVP required).
  • 2:00 at Provea Zoom: Los laberintos de la Verdad (RSVP required).
  • 4:00-5:00 at Georgetown University: Democracies Need Robust Evidence: The Mexican Evaluation System (RSVP required).

Tuesday, February 28, 2023

Wednesday, March 1, 2023

Thursday, March 2, 2023

  • 9:00-10:45 at the Inter-American Dialogue and at thedialogue.org: Central America Forward: A Conversation with Emily Mendrala (RSVP required).

Friday, March 3, 2023

  • 1:45-3:00 at wilsoncenter.org: Strengthening U.S. Cooperation on Marine Protection in Latin America (RSVP required).

Latin America-Related Events Online and in Washington this Week

Tuesday, February 21, 2023

  • 10:00-11:00 at the Wilson Center and wilsoncenter.org: Putting Peru Back Together (RSVP required).
  • 2:00-4:10 at stimson.org: Forum on the Arms Trade Annual Conference (RSVP required).
  • 3:00-4:30 at INCAE Zoom: Experiencias exitosas en gobierno digital y auditoría social (RSVP required).
  • 6:00-7:30 at csis.org: Turning up the Heat on Geothermal Energy in Latin America (RSVP required).

Wednesday, February 22, 2023

  • 9:00-10:30 at wilsoncenter.org: Greening BRI Governance in Southeast Asia, Latin America and Beyond (RSVP required).
  • 9:30-11:30 at csis.org: Promise and Peril: Migration Management Technologies in West Africa and Central America (RSVP required).
  • 11:00-12:30 at FIU Washington DC and Zoom: A Look Inside Venezuela with Julio Borges and Paola de Alemán (RSVP required).
  • 12:30-2:00 at wola.org: Reckoning with Indigenous and Afro Descendant Truth: the Ethnic Chapter of Colombia’s Truth Commission Report Webinar (RSVP required).
  • 6:00-7:30 at George Washington University: Assessing the U.S. – Mexico Security Cooperation (RSVP required).

Thursday, February 23, 2023

  • 12:00 at globalinitiative.net: Gobernanza punitiva y derechos humanos en Centroamérica (RSVP required).
  • 4:00-5:00 at Georgetown University: Peaceful Borders and Illicit Transnational Flows: The Case of the Americas (RSVP required).
  • 5:00-7:00 at George Washington University: A Conversation with Ambassador Juan Jose Gomez Camacho (RSVP required).

Saturday, February 25, 2023

  • 5:00-7:00 at Busboys and Poets 14th Street: Indigenous Cinematic Resistance in the Amazon (RSVP required).

Latin America-related events online and in Washington this week

Tuesday, February 14, 2023

  • 10:00-11:00 at Georgetown University Zoom: A Conversation with Robert W. Thomas, Chargé d’Affaires of the United States Embassy in Santo Domingo (RSVP required).
  • 3:00-4:00 at the Wilson Center: Reflections on President Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva’s Visit to Washington (RSVP required).

Wednesday, February 15, 2023

Thursday, February 16, 2023

  • 1:00-2:00 at the Wilson Center: A Conversation with Inter-American Development Bank President Ilan Goldfajn (RSVP required).
  • 5:00-6:15 at Witness at the Border mobilize.us: Journey for Justice: Reporting Back (RSVP required).

Friday, February 17, 2023

  • 12:00-1:30 at George Washington University: Making Sense of Immigration Data: A Conversation With TRAC (RSVP required).

Latin America-related events online and in Washington this week

Monday, February 6, 2023

  • 10:30-11:15 at csis.org: Press Briefing: Previewing President Biden’s Meeting with President Lula of Brazil (RSVP required).
  • 4:00-5:00 at Georgetown University: Spotlight on the Americas: World Economic Outlook 2023 (RSVP required).

Tuesday, February 7, 2023

Thursday, February 9, 2023

Friday, February 10, 2023

  • 4:15-6:00 at the Inter-American Dialogue and thedialogue.org: Between Radicalization and Prospects for Change in Nicaragua (RSVP required).

Latin America-related events online and in Washington this week

Monday, January 30, 2023

  • 4:00-5:00 at Georgetown University and YouTube: Latin America and the Caribbean in 2023: What to Expect? (RSVP required).

Wednesday, February 1, 2023

Thursday, February 2, 2023

  • 12:00 at Johns Hopkins Zoom: Peru’s Crisis in the Latin American Context (RSVP required).

Latin America-related events online and in Washington this week

Wednesday, January 25, 2023

  • 10:00-11:00 at csis.org: Mining, Climate Risks, and the Western Hemisphere (RSVP required).
  • 12:30-1:30 at wilsoncenter.org: Venezuela in 2023 and Beyond: Charting a New Course (RSVP required).
  • 3:00 at ABA Zoom: Electronic Monitoring of Migrants: Alternative to Detention or Just Another Form of Punitive Custody? (RSVP required).
  • 4:00-5:00 at Georgetown University Intercultural Center: Paraguay’s Future in a Turbulent Continent (RSVP required).

Thursday, January 26, 2023

  • 11:00-12:30 at thdialogue.org: The Future of Women in STEM – Challenges and Opportunities in LAC (RSVP required).
  • 6:00-8:00 at Busboys and Poets 14th and V NW: “After Ayotzinapa”: The Case of the 43 Disappeared Students in Mexico (RSVP required).

Friday, January 27, 2023

  • 6:00-7:30 at American University Spring Valley Building: A Look Inside Venezuela: An Expert Conversation With Author William Neuman (RSVP required).

Latin America-related events online and in Washington this week

Tuesday, January 17

  • 9:45-4:00 at juridicas.unam.mx: Seminario “Desmilitarizar a México: ¿dónde estamos y hacia dónde vamos?” (RSVP required).

Wednesday, January 18

Thursday, January 19

  • 11:00-3:15 at juridicas.unam.mx: Seminario “Desmilitarizar a México: ¿dónde estamos y hacia dónde vamos?” (RSVP required).
  • 12:30-1:30 at atlanticcouncil.org: A conversation with General Laura J. Richardson on security across the Americas (RSVP required).

Latin America-related events online and in Washington this week

Monday, December 12

  • 3:00-4:30 at csis.org: Defending Transparency and Advancing Anticorruption in the Western Hemisphere (RSVP required).

Tuesday, December 13

Wednesday, December 14

  • 1:30-3:00 at wilsoncenter.org: 200 Years of U.S.-Mexico Bilateral Relations: An Ambassadorial Perspective (RSVP required).

Thursday, December 15

  • 1:00-2:00 at atlanticcouncil.org: US-Mexico ties at the bicentennial and weeks from NALS (RSVP required).

Latin America-related events in Washington and online this week

Monday, December 5

  • 11:00-12:30 at the Wilson Center: Protecting, Defending and Promoting Civic Space in Central America (RSVP required).
  • 11:00 at Inter-American Human Rights System social media networks: Los retos de la independencia judicial en las democracias actuales (RSVP required).
  • 2:00-3:00 at wola.org: Perspectives on Civil Society Consultation in Venezuela Negotiations (RSVP required).
  • 2:30-3:15 at CSIS and csis.org: The Convergence of National Security and Homeland Security: A Conversation with DHS Secretary Alejandro N. Mayorkas (RSVP required).

Wednesday, December 7

  • 10:00-11:00 at thedialogue.org: Ambassador Dialogues: US-Ecuador Relations (RSVP required).
  • 3:00 at Hispanics for Philanthropy Zoom: Migration Policy Impacts // Los Impactos de las Políticas Migratorias (RSVP required).

Thursday, December 8

  • 9:00-9:45 at the Wilson Center: A Conversation with Buenos Aires Mayor Horacio Rodríguez Larreta (RSVP required).
  • 2:30-4:00 at the Wilson Center: Brazil – U.S. Climate Dialogues: Research and Scientific Cooperation (RSVP required).

Friday, December 9

  • 8:00-9:00 at csis.org: Hydrogen Development in Latin America: Varying Scenarios for Chile and Paraguay (RSVP required).
  • 11:00-12:00 at thedialogue.org: A Conversation with Jorge Castañeda Gutman on the Future of Democracy in the Americas (RSVP required).
Newer Posts
Older Posts
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.